Mental Health Service Act

The Mental Health Services Act (MHSA), also known as Prop 63, was passed by California voters in 2004. MHSA is funded by a 1% tax on personal incomes above a million dollars and is designed to expand and transform California’s county mental health systems.

To better serve individuals with and at risk for serious mental health issues, and their families, the MHSA:

  • Facilitates Community Collaboration
  • Promotes Cultural Competence
  • Develop criteria and procedures for reporting of county and state performance outcomes
  • Creates Individual and Family-Driven Programs
  • Adopts a Wellness, Recovery and Resilience-Focus
  • Facilitates Integrated Service Experience
  • Designs Outcomes-based programs
The MHSA includes five distinct funding streams:

The below diagram shows the spectrum of MHSA services from prevention through treatment and recovery:

For more information on Alameda County’s MHSA programs and activities please go to
To be added to the MHSA email distribution list to receive updates and announcements, please email